On Segoe UI

I first noticed Segoe UI when I got my notebook updated to Windows 8. I noticed a change in Arabic characters from Tahoma.

Everytime I use Segoe UI, I find it very satisfying. Especially in Arabic. I used it in the web app Writer as a main font (since version 3.5), in my main blog, and then used it in discussion websites like Arabia I/O, using some browser extensions.

After my extensive use of the font, I started to notice the difference between Segoe UI and Droid Naskh (or Noto Naskh now), the main Arabic font in my Android phone, in terms of both legibility and appearance.

Also, Droid Naskh only had a regualr weight, which makes mixed Arabic and English text (a very common scenario) look very “embarrassing”, especially in light or thin weights.

With Android

So, I decided to make a little experiment: changing the Arabic font on my Android phone to Segoe UI. And since I already had root permissions on my phone, it didn’t seem like a bad idea.

At the beggining of this experiment, my phone was running a KitKat ROM, then I moved to a Lollipop one at the end.

First step: testing

First thing, I looked for a “fonts” folder in the system directory (root/system/fonts), looked up “DriodNaskh” in it, then replaced the font with Segoe UI after I renamed it “DroidNaskh”. And it worked immediately. I opened Pocket, and I liked what I saw.

A look at both fonts at the same size. Right: Droid Naskh. Left: Segoe UI. Article source.
A look at both fonts at the same size. Right: Droid Naskh. Left: Segoe UI. Article source.

Second step: a better way

At this point, the fonts directory had a Droid Naskh font with Segoe UI characters. The next step was doing it better.

As built-in fonts in an OS, I assumed there to be a config file containing default fonts the system calls when needed. So, I opened the AOSP project page on GitHub and searched for “DroidNaskh”, to find two interesitng files: system_fonts.xml and fallback_fonts.xml.

I opened system_fonts.xml. The file only had Roboto and Droid Sans, so it was safe to assume that Droid Naskh serves as a fallback font.

I opened fallback_fonts.xml and replaced every Droid Naskh entry with Segoe UI. Then I copied Segoe UI fonts to the fonts directory with their original names, and restored original Droid Naskh fonts that I previously replaced.

At this point, the fonts directory has the default Droid Naskh (as it was), and Segoe UI fonts that I added. All of them having their right characters.

<fileset>
<file>DroidNaskh-Regular.ttf</file>
</fileset>
fallback_fonts.xml: Before
<fileset>
<file>SegoeUI-Regular.ttf</file>
</fileset>
fallback_fonts.xml: After

This time, though, it didn’t immediately work. So, I rebooted the device, only to find that all Arabic characters are displayed as replacement ones. I was lucky to be using a file explorer that displays file permissions for each file in the root directory, so I noticed that the fonts I added, by default, didn’t have permissions for non-system apps to read them (-rw-------). So I updated the permissions (to -rw-r--r--) then rebooted the phone, and it worked.

So, why a reboot was required this time? The only reason I could think of is that the system only calls the config file once at startup, cache it, and then uses the cached version to call any needed font. Which makes sense.

This “better” method doesn’t require removing built-in files, doesn’t “trick” the system by renaming files, makes it easy to get back to original fonts, and will allow adding more weights to any font. Unlike the previous method.

Third step: adding weights

Segoe UI has weights starting from light (300), unlike Roboto (the default Latin font), which has weights starting from thin (100). Still, it’s much (…very much) better than not supporting both, as is the case with Droid Naskh.

It didn’t seem complicated here: I copied the node containing the normal weight font file (called “regular” here), and replaced it with the light version, then repeated to add a bold version too (KitKat didn’t even have a bold weight of Droid Naskh). It worked after another reboot, and I liked it even more!

<fileset>
<file>SegoeUI-Light.ttf</file>
<file>SegoeUI-Regular.ttf</file>
<file>SegoeUI-Bold.ttf</file>
</fileset>
Part of fallback_fonts.xml after adding weights.
A look at both fonts and their support of a light weight in action.
A look at both fonts and their support of a light weight in action.

Fourth step: moving to Lollipop

Regarding fonts, there are several differences moving from KitKat to Lollipop:

  1. The files system_fonts.xml and fallback_fonts.xml were merged into one file called fonts.xml, with a different markup structure.
  2. Droid Naskh was renamed to Noto Naskh.
  3. Noto Naskh now has a bold weight.

Which means that changes we made earlier to fallback_fonts.xml and Droid Naskh will be made in Lollipop to fonts.xml and Noto Naskh, with some syntax changes.

Regarding syntax change, the new syntax in fonts.xml is more flexibe. It allows specifying font weights and styles (normal/italic) for each font file explicitly, without relying on other factors (like file order). Also, the new syntax makes more sense; so, instead of file there’s font, and instead of putting fonts inside a fileset, they will be added directly to family.

A look at both markup structures in KitKat and Lollipop.
<family>
<fileset>
<file>SegoeUI-Regular.ttf</file>
<file>SegoeUI-Bold.ttf</file>
</fileset>
</family>
<family>
<font weight='400'>SegoeUI-Regular.ttf</font>
<font weight='700'>SegoeUI-Bold.ttf</font>
</family>

Arabic characters of Segoe UI look very “homogeneous” with the Latin characters of Roboto. Seeing them together creates great satisfaction, while Noto Naskh seems to be an outsider.
Arabic characters of Segoe UI look very “homogeneous” with the Latin characters of Roboto. Seeing them together creates great satisfaction, while Noto Naskh seems to be an outsider.

As its name tells, Segoe UI is mainly designed for user interfaces, but I found it very comfortable in reading long articles too.

Segoe UI and Tahoma have something in common: they both look good in small sizes, but it gets worse as they get bigger in size. But this applies to normal weights. The multiple weights in Segoe UI makes it look great even in bigger sizes, especially in lighter weights, which is a big feature to differentiate both fonts.

This font is not free, let alone open source, as is the case with Noto Naskh. And until now, I couldn’t find a way to buy it separately, but it comes embeded with the latest Windows and Office versions (starting form Windows Vista and Office 2007). And even in the font’s page on Microsoft’s website, the link refers to Microsoft’s page on Fonts.com, which doesn’t have the font… for some reason.

If you wanted to see a website using Arabic characters of Segoe UI in several weights, visit any Arabic verison of Microsoft.com. This website also has web versions of the font (in woff and eot formats), which means there’s a way to use it natively on the web too.

Alternative title: Segoe UI is Sugoi.

عن خط Segoe UI

لاحظت Segoe UI لأول مرة حين قمت بتحديث جهازي الرئيسي إلى Windows 8، حيث لاحظت تغييرًا في الخط العربي للواجهات من Tahoma.

في كل مرة أستخدم فيها Segoe UI (في النصوص العربية خصوصًا) أجده مريحًا جدًا. استخدمته في تطبيق Writer كخط للمحتوى الرئيسي (منذ الإصدار 3.5)، ثم استخدمته في مدونتي كخط أساسي أيضًا، ثم استخدمته في مواقع النقاش كـArabia I/O عن طريق إضافات للمتصفحات.

بعد استخدامي الكثيف له، بدأت ألاحظ الاختلاف بينه وبين خط Android الأساسي على هاتفي، Droid Naskh (أو Noto Naskh حاليًا)، من حيث الراحة في القراءة والمظهر معًا.

وبخلاف ذلك، Droid Naskh لا يمتلك أوزانًا غير الوزن العادي، مما يجعل من النص المختلط (بين العربية والإنجليزية مثلًا) يبدو «محرجًا»، خصوصًا حين يكون النص من أوزان light أو thin.

مع Android

قررت أن أقوم بتجربة سريعة؛ تغيير الخط العربي على Android إلى Segoe UI. وبما أني أمتلك صلاحيات الـroot على هاتفي، لم تبد فكرة سيئة. في بداية هذه التجربة كان هاتفي يعمل بإصدار KitKat، ثم انتقلت في آخرها إلى Lollipop.

الخطوة الأولى: التجربة

قمت بالبحث عن «DroidNaskh» في المجلد الخاص بالخطوط (root/system/fonts)، ثم قمت باستبدال الخط بـSegoe UI بعد أن أعدت تسميته بـ«DroidNaskh» هو الآخر. نجح الأمر دون إعادة تشغيل الهاتف. قمت بفتح تطبيق Pocket، وأعجبتني النتيجة جدًا.

مقارنة بين الخطين بنفس الحجم. إلى اليمين: Droid Naskh. إلى اليسار: Segoe UI. مصدر المقال.
مقارنة بين الخطين بنفس الحجم. إلى اليمين: Droid Naskh. إلى اليسار: Segoe UI. مصدر المقال.

الخطوة الثانية: طريقة أفضل

في هذه النقطة، يحتوي مجلد الخطوط على خط باسم Droid Naskh، يحتوي على محارف Segoe UI. الخطوة التالية كانت فعل الأمر بطريقة أفضل.

بما أن هذه الخطوط هي خطوط افتراضية للنظام، افترضت وجود ملف وصفيٍ يحتوي أسماء الخطوط الافتراضية التي يقوم باستدعائها عندما يحتاجها. قمت بالذهاب إلى صفحة مشروع Android على GitHub والبحث عن «DroidNaskh»، لأجد –بخلاف الخطوط ذاتها– ملفين مثيرين للاهتمام؛ أحدهما باسم system_fonts.xml والآخر باسم fallback_fonts.xml.

قمت بفتح system_fonts.xml في البداية. وصف الملف كان يتحدث عن الملف الآخر، حيث توضع فيه الخطوط التي ينظر لها النظام في حالة لم يجد أحد المحارف في إحدى الخطوط الموجودة في الأول. احتوى system_fonts.xml على خطي Roboto وDroid Sans، لذا بدا fallback_fonts.xml هو المكان الصحيح لوضع الخطوط العربية فيه؛ بما أن الأول لا يحتوي على خط Droid Naskh الإفتراضي للغة العربية.

قمت بفتح fallback_fonts.xml، وكبداية قمت بتغيير كل تواجد لـDroid Naskh في الملف إلى Segoe UI، وقمت بنسخ خطوط Segoe UI بأسمائها الأصلية إلى مجلد الخطوط، واستعدت خطوط Droid Naskh الأصلية التي كنت قد استبدلتها.

في هذه النقطة، يحتوي مجلد الخطوط على خط Droid Naskh الافتراضي (كما جاء مع النظام)، بالإضافة إلى خط Segoe UI الذي قمت باضافته، كلٌ يحتوي على محارفه الصحيحة.

<fileset>
<file>DroidNaskh-Regular.ttf</file>
</fileset>
جزء من ملف fallback_fonts.xml قبل التعديل.
<fileset>
<file>SegoeUI-Regular.ttf</file>
</fileset>
جزء من ملف fallback_fonts.xml بعد التعديل.

هذه المرة لم تتغير الخطوط تلقائيًا، لذا قمت بإعادة تشغيل الجهاز، لكن بعد إعادة التشغيل وجدت أن جميع النصوص العربية تم استبدالها ب‍محارف بديلة. كان من حظي أني كنت أستعمل على هاتفي في هذه العملية متصفح ملفات يعرض الأذونات المحددة لكل ملف في مجلد الـroot، حيث لاحظت أن الخطوط الجديدة التي أضفتها تمتلك –افتراضيًا– أذونات لا تسمح لتطبيقات غير النظام بقرائتها (-rw-------). قمت بتحديث الأذونات (إلى -rw-r--r--)، وأعدت تشغيل الهاتف مرة أخرى، فنجح الأمر.

لماذا لم تنجح هذه الطريقة إلا بعد إعادة تشغيل الهاتف؟ التفسير الوحيد الذي يمكنني أن أفكر فيه هو أن النظام يقوم عند الإقلاع باستدعاء الملف الوصفي مرة واحدة، ويقوم بتخزين أسماء الخطوط منه إلى الذاكرة، ثم يقوم باستدعاء الخط المناسب باسمه في كل مرة يحتاجه.

هذه الطريقة لا تتطلب حذف أي ملفات من النظام، ولا تقوم بـ«خداع» النظام حول الخطوط المستخدمة، وتتيح العودة إلى الخطوط الأصلية بسهولة، كما أنها ستتيح دعم المزيد من الأوزان للنصوص العربية، بخلاف الطريقة السابقة.

الخطوة الثالثة: دعم الأوزان

الخطوة التالية كانت دعم الأوزان. Segoe UI يدعم بدءًا من وزن light (أو 300)، وليس thin (أو 100) كـRoboto. لكن هذا بالتأكيد أفضل بمراحل (…عديدة) من عدم وجود كليهما.

بحسب صيغة وصف الخطوط الأخرى، فالأمر لا يبدو معقدًا هنا؛ قمت باستنساخ الـnode التي تحتوي على الخط بوزن normal (باسم «regular» هنا)، وقمت بالإشارة إلى وزن light بدلًا منه، وكذلك فعلت لإضافة وزن bold (نسخة KitKat لا تحتوي على وزن bold بالأصل). نجح الأمر بعد إعادة التشغيل أيضًا، وأعجبتني النتيجة أكثر!

<fileset>
<file>SegoeUI-Light.ttf</file>
<file>SegoeUI-Regular.ttf</file>
<file>SegoeUI-Bold.ttf</file>
</fileset>
جزء من ملف fallback_fonts.xml بعد إضافة الأوزان.
مقارنة بين مظهر الخطين ودعمهما لوزن light تطبيقيًا.
مقارنة بين مظهر الخطين ودعمهما لوزن light تطبيقيًا.

الخطوة الرابعة: الانتقال إلى Lollipop

فيما يتعلق بالخطوط، هناك عدة تغييرات جرت في Android إنتقالًا من KitKat إلى Lollipop:

  1. الملفان system_fonts.xml وfallback_fonts.xml اختصرا إلى ملف واحد باسم fonts.xml وذو صيغة مختلفة.
  2. خط Droid Naskh غُيّر اسمه إلى Noto Naskh.
  3. أضيفَ وزن bold لـNoto Naskh.

ما يعني أن التغييرات التي أجريت على fallback_fonts.xml وDroid Naskh في الأعلى ستجرى في Lollipop على ملف fonts.xml وخط Noto Naskh، مع بعض التغييرات في الصيغة.

التغييرات الجوهرية بين الصيغتين هي أن fonts.xml ذو صيغة أكثر مرونة، حيث تتيح تحديد الوزن والـstyle (مائل/عادي) لكل خط على حدة، دون الاعتماد على ترتيب الوصف. كما أن الـtags الخاصة به أكثر وضوحًا، فبدلًا من file، ستستخدم font، وبدلًا من وضع الخطوط داخل fileset، ستضعها داخل family مباشرة.

مقارنة بين صيغتي وصف الخطوط.
<family>
<fileset>
<file>SegoeUI-Regular.ttf</file>
<file>SegoeUI-Bold.ttf</file>
</fileset>
</family>
<family>
<font weight='400'>SegoeUI-Regular.ttf</font>
<font weight='700'>SegoeUI-Bold.ttf</font>
</family>

المحارف العربية للخط تبدو متجانسة جدًا مع المحارف اللاتينية من خط Roboto. رؤيتهما معًا تخلق ارتياحًا كبيرًا، بينما يبدو Noto Naskh دخيلًا عليه.
المحارف العربية للخط تبدو متجانسة جدًا مع المحارف اللاتينية من خط Roboto. رؤيتهما معًا تخلق ارتياحًا كبيرًا، بينما يبدو Noto Naskh دخيلًا عليه.

كما يبدو من اسمه، Segoe UI مصمم أساسًا للواجهات، لكني وجدته مريحًا في قراءة النصوص الطويلة أيضًا.

يتشابه Segoe UI مع Tahoma في أن كلاهما يبدوان أنيقين في الأحجام الصغيرة، بينما ينقلب الأمر كلما إزدادا حجما. لكن هذا ينطبق على الوزن العادي فقط. تعدد الأوزان في Segoe UI يجعله يبدو بمظهر رائع في الأوزان الأقل (الأخف؟)، وهي ميزة كبيرة تفصل بينهما.

الخط ليس مجانيا فضلا عن أن يكون مفتوح المصدر كحال Noto Naskh، ولم أجد طريقة لشرائه منفصلًا حتى الآن، لكنه يأتي مدمجا مع نسخ Windows وOffice الأخيرة (بدءًا من Windows Vista وOffice 2007). وحتى في صفحة الخط على موقع Microsoft، رابط الشراء يحيل إلى صفحة Microsoft في موقع Fonts.com، التي لا تحتوي على الخط… لسبب ما.

إذا أردت رؤية موقع يستخدم المحارف العربية لـSegoe UI بعدة أوزان، فقم بزيارة النسخة العربية من موقع Microsoft.com. هذا الموقع أيضًا يستخدم نسخ خاصة بالويب من Segoe UI (بصيغ woff وeot)، ما يعني أن هناك طريقة ما لاستخدامه على الويب كذلك.

عنوان بديل: Segoe UI is Sugoi.